The Civil War

The Civil War (1990)


A comprehensive and definitive history of the American Civil War.

Score: 8.8/10 from 49 votes
First Air Date: 1990-09-23
Last Air Date: 1990-09-27
Total Seasons: 1
Total Episodes: 9
Status: Ended
Network: PBS

All Seasons

Season 0
First air date:
Season 1
First air date: 1990-09-23


Sam Waterston
as Abraham Lincoln
Morgan Freeman
as Frederick Douglass
Jason Robards
as Ulysses S. Grant
Shelby Foote
Garrison Keillor
as Walt Whitman
Arthur Miller
as William Tecumseh Sherman
Jeremy Irons
as Various
Julie Harris
as Mary Chestnut
David McCullough
Paul Roebling
George Plimpton
as George Templeton Strong
Horton Foote
as Jefferson Davis
George Black
as Robert E. Lee
Philip Bosco
as Horace Greeley
Derek Jacobi
as Various
Hoyt Axton
as Various
Colleen Dewhurst
as Various
Laurence Fishburne
as Various
Barbara Fields


Editing Paul Barnes Editor
Sound Jay Ungar Original Music Composer
Crew Ken Burns Cinematography
Production Catherine Yang Eisele Producer
Production Ric Burns Producer
Production Julie A. Dunfey Producer
Production Stephen Ives Producer
Production Mike Hill Producer
Production Ken Burns Executive Producer