Prohibition (2011)


The story of the rise, rule, and fall of the Eighteenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution and the entire era it encompassed.

Score: 8.1/10 from 21 votes
First Air Date: 2011-10-02
Last Air Date: 2011-10-04
Total Seasons: 1
Total Episodes: 3
Status: Ended
Network: PBS

All Seasons

Season 0
First air date: 2011-06-26
Season 1
First air date: 2011-10-02


Samuel L. Jackson
as Reader (voice)
Jeremy Irons
as Reader (voice)
Josh Lucas
as Reader (voice)
Patricia Clarkson
as Eliza Hackett
Adam Arkin
as Himself
Amy Madigan
Blythe Danner
as Herself
Carolyn McCormick
Frances Sternhagen
John Lithgow
as HL Mencken
Kevin Conway
as Reader (voice)
Oliver Platt
as Reader (voice)
Paul Giamatti
as George Remus
Sam Waterston
as Reader (voice)
Tom Hanks
as Reader (voice)
Philip Bosco
as Himself
Peter Coyote
as Himself


Directing Lynn Novick Director
Production Sarah Botstein Producer
Production Karen Kenton Producer
Production Jean Lane Producer
Production Lynn Novick Producer
Editing Erik Ewers Editor
Editing Ryan Gifford Editor
Editing Tricia Reidy Editor
Costume & Make-Up Maria Torfeld Makeup Artist
Directing Ken Burns Director
Production Ken Burns Executive Producer
Camera Buddy Squires Director of Photography
Sound David Cieri Original Music Composer
Directing Christopher Darling Assistant Director