Playhouse (1974)


BBC2 Playhouse is a one hour UK anthology television series of one-off contemporary and classic dramas created by Sara Pia Anderson and produced by the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC). Among its many notable guest stars were Helen Mirren, Daniel Day-Lewis, Judi Dench, Liam Neeson, Paul Scofield, Deborah Kerr, Ben Kingsley, Donald Pleasence, Brenda Blethyn, and Peggy Ashcroft. It premiered in the UK on March 13, 1974 and ran through May 20, 1983.

First Air Date: 1974-03-13
Last Air Date: 1981-06-05
Total Seasons: 5
Total Episodes: 17
Status: Ended

All Seasons

Season 1
First air date: 1974-03-13
Season 2
First air date: 1975-01-08
Season 3
First air date: 1976-03-19
Season 4
First air date: 1976-09-29
Season 7
First air date: 1980-10-31


Liam Neeson
as Blacksmith
Helen Mirren
as Mrs. Reinhardt
Ian McKellen
Ben Kingsley
as Ivanov
Ben Kingsley
as Robert Cibrario
Julie Walters
as Mrs. Morgan
Judi Dench
as Sister Scarli


Production Rosemary Hill Producer
Production Innes Lloyd Producer
Production Anne Head Producer
Production Peter Ansorge Producer