The Tonight Show with Jay Leno

The Tonight Show with Jay Leno (1992)


The Tonight Show with Jay Leno is an American late-night talk show hosted by Jay Leno that initially aired from May 25, 1992 to May 29, 2009, and resumed production on March 1, 2010. The fourth incarnation of the Tonight Show franchise made its debut on May 25, 1992, three days following Johnny Carson's retirement as host of the program. The program originates from NBC Studios in Burbank, California, and is broadcast Monday through Friday at 11:35 PM in the Eastern and Pacific time zones. Unlike Carson or his predecessor Jack Paar, Leno only once utilized a guest host, preferring to host the series by himself. On April 26, 1999, the show began broadcasting in 1080i HDTV, becoming the first American nightly talk show to be shot in high definition. The show is shot in 16:9 aspect ratio. The series, which followed the same basic format as that of his predecessors, ran until May 29, 2009, after which Leno was succeeded by Conan O'Brien. NBC signed Leno to a new deal for a nightly talk show in the 10:00 pm ET timeslot. The primetime series, titled The Jay Leno Show, debuted on September 14, 2009, following a similar format to the Leno incarnation of Tonight.

Score: 5.3/10 from 43 votes
First Air Date: 1992-05-25
Last Air Date: 2013-11-19
Total Seasons: 21
Total Episodes: 2642
Status: Ended
Network: NBC

All Seasons

Season 0
First air date:
Season 1
First air date: 1992-05-25
Season 2
First air date: 1993-06-25
Season 3
First air date: 1994-11-28
Season 4
First air date: 1996-03-07
Season 5
First air date: 1996-09-16
Season 6
First air date: 1997-12-05
Season 7
First air date: 1998-02-26
Season 8
First air date: 1999-07-30
Season 9
First air date: 2000-08-01
Season 10
First air date: 2002-04-30
Season 11
First air date: 2002-06-03
Season 12
First air date: 2003-06-02
Season 13
First air date: 2004-06-07
Season 14
First air date: 2005-06-06
Season 15
First air date: 2006-09-18
Season 16
First air date: 2007-09-17
Season 17
First air date: 2008-06-02
Season 18
First air date: 2010-03-01
Season 19
First air date: 2011-01-03
Season 20
First air date: 2012-01-03
Season 21
First air date: 2013-01-02


Jay Leno
as Himself - Host


Writing Bathe Armogida Writer
Writing Jack Coen Writer
Writing Anthony Caleca Writer
Writing Michael Patrick Jann Writer
Writing Mike Colasuonno Writer
Writing Larry Jacobson Writer
Writing John A. Kennedy Writer
Writing Wayne Kline Writer
Writing Andrew McElfresh Writer
Writing Suli McCullough Writer
Writing Jon Macks Writer
Writing Steve Ridgeway Writer
Writing Michael Riedel Writer
Writing Dave Rygalski Writer
Writing John Romeo Writer
Writing Peter Sears Writer
Writing Beth Sherman Writer
Writing Jim Shaughnessy Writer
Writing Rob Young Writer
Writing Jeffrey Spear Writer
Production Larry Goitia Producer
Production Debbie Vickers Executive Producer
Production Walter Lewis Producer
Production Wendy Stark Producer
Production Patti M. Grant Producer
Production Jay Leno Producer
Production Bill Royce Producer