Lincoln (1988)

War & PoliticsDrama

"Lincoln" was a 1988 American television mini-series starring Sam Waterston as Abraham Lincoln, Mary Tyler Moore as Mary Todd Lincoln, and Richard Mulligan as William H. Seward. It was directed by Lamont Johnson and was based on Gore Vidal’s novel. It covers the time period running from Lincoln’s election as President of the United States to the time of his assassination. When released for home entertainment, the title was changed to "Gore Vidal's Lincoln" Lamont Johnson won an Emmy for directing Lincoln. The film was shot almost entirely in Richmond, Virginia and it cost $8 million to produce.

Score: 8.5/10 from 2 votes
First Air Date: 1988-03-27
Last Air Date: 1988-03-28
Total Seasons: 1
Total Episodes: 2
Status: Ended
Network: NBC

All Seasons

Season 1
First air date: 1988-03-27


Sam Waterston
as Abraham Lincoln
Mary Tyler Moore
as Mary Todd Lincoln
Richard Mulligan
as William H. Seward
Deborah Adair
as Kate Chase
Ruby Dee
as Elizabeth Keckley
Thomas Gibson
as William Sprague


Directing Lamont Johnson Director
Writing Ernest Kinoy Screenplay
Writing Gore Vidal Novel