The Dead Zone

The Dead Zone (2002)

DramaSci-Fi & Fantasy

The Dead Zone, aka Stephen King's Dead Zone was an American-Canadian science fiction/suspense series starring Anthony Michael Hall as Johnny Smith, who discovers he has developed psychic abilities after a coma. The show, credited as "based on characters" from Stephen King's 1979 novel of the same name, first aired in 2002, and was produced by Lionsgate Television and CBS Paramount Network Television for the USA Network. The show was originally commissioned for UPN, but the network later dropped the show and it was picked up instead by USA. The series was filmed in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada for its first five seasons. The sixth and last season was billed as "The season that changes everything" and production was moved to Montreal. The Dead Zone was expected to be renewed for a seventh season, however due to low ratings and high production cost the series was canceled in December 2007, without a proper series finale. Some rumors spread that Syfy would pick up the series after it was canceled by USA, but it did not happen. Rumors of a made for TV movie have all but faded with time.

Score: 6.9/10 from 56 votes
First Air Date: 2002-06-16
Last Air Date: 2007-09-16
Total Seasons: 6
Total Episodes: 80
Status: Ended
Network: USA Network

All Seasons

Season 0
First air date:
Season 1
First air date: 2002-06-16
Season 2
First air date: 2003-01-05
Season 3
First air date: 2004-06-06
Season 4
First air date: 2005-06-12
Season 5
First air date: 2006-06-18
Season 6
First air date: 2007-06-17


Sean Patrick Flanery
as Greg Stillson
Nicole de Boer
as Sarah Bracknell Bannerman
Anthony Michael Hall
as Johnny Smith
Chris Bruno
as Sheriff Walt Bannerman
John L. Adams
as Bruce Lewis


Writing Stephen King Writer
Production Shawn Piller Producer