Sense and Sensibility

Sense and Sensibility (2008)


Marianne Dashwood wears her heart on her sleeve when she falls in love with the charming but unsuitable John Willoughby, ignoring her sister Elinor's warning that her impulsive behavior leaves her open to gossip and innuendo. Elinor, sensitive to social convention, struggles to conceal her own romantic disappointment, even from those closest to her. Will the sisters learn that sense must mix with sensibility if they are to find personal happiness in a society where status and money govern the rules of love?

Score: 7.8/10 from 71 votes
First Air Date: 2008-01-01
Last Air Date: 2008-01-13
Total Seasons: 1
Total Episodes: 3
Status: Ended
Network: BBC One

All Seasons

Season 1
First air date: 2008-01-01


Hattie Morahan
as Elinor Dashwood
Charity Wakefield
as Marianne Dashwood
David Morrissey
as Colonel Brandon
Mark Gatiss
as John Dashwood
Janet McTeer
as Mrs. Dashwood
Dominic Cooper
as Willoughby
Claire Skinner
as Fanny Dashwood
Charity Wakefield
Lucy Boynton
as Margaret Dashwood
Dan Stevens
as Edward Ferrars
Mark Williams
as Sir John Middleton
Anna Madeley
as Lucy Steele
Daisy Haggard
as Miss Steele
Linda Bassett
as Mrs. Jennings
Rosanna Lavelle
as Lady Middleton
Caroline Hayes
as Eliza
Leo Bill
as Robert Ferrars
Simon Williams
as Henry Dashwood
Jean Marsh
as Mrs. Ferrars


Production Anne Pivcevic Producer
Directing John Alexander Director
Camera Sean Bobbitt Director of Photography
Costume & Make-Up Michele Clapton Costume Design
Writing Andrew Davies Writer
Editing Roy Sharman Editor
Production Rebecca Eaton Executive Producer
Art James Merifield Production Design
Writing Jane Austen Novel
Sound Martin Phipps Original Music Composer
Production Vanessa De Sousa Associate Producer
Production Kate Rhodes James Casting
Production Jessica Pope Executive Producer