In This Corner of the World

Torn apart by war. Brought together by love.

In This Corner of the World (2016)


Japan, 1943, during World War II. Young Suzu leaves her village near Hiroshima to marry and live with her in-laws in Kure, a military harbor. Her creativity to overcome deprivation quickly makes her indispensable at home. Inhabited by an ancestral wisdom, Suzu impregnates the simple gestures of everyday life with poetry and beauty. The many hardships, the loss of loved ones, the frequent air raids of the enemy, nothing alters her enthusiasm…

Director: Sunao Katabuchi
Writer: Sunao Katabuchi

In This Corner of the World Vodly
Vodly Score: 8.1/10 from 241 votes
Release Date: 2016-11-12
Status: Released
Run time: 130 min / 2:10
Revenue: $19,496,308
Production Companies : GENCO, MAPPA
Production Country: Japan


as Suzu Urano (voice)
Daisuke Ono
as Tetsu Mizuhara (voice)
Mayumi Shintani
as San Hōjō (voice)
Megumi Han
as Sumi Urano (voice)
Minori Omi
as Keiko Kuromura (voice)
Natsuki Inaba
as Harumi Kuromura (voice)
Shigeru Ushiyama
as Entaro Hōjō (voice)
Yoshimasa Hosoya
as Shūsaku Hōjō (voice)
Hiromi Seta
as Chita (voice)
Hisako Kyouda
as Ito Morita (voice)
Kikuyo Semi
as Dōmoto (voice)
Kotone Tachibana
as Kariya (voice)
Masumi Tsuda
as Kiseno Urano (voice)
Nanase Iwai
as Rin Shiraki (voice)
Nozomu Sasaki
as Uncle Kobayashi (voice)
Tomoko Shiota
as Aunt Kobayashi (voice)
Tsuyoshi Koyama
as Jūrō Urano (voice)


Art Yōji Takeshige Background Designer
Production Masao Maruyama Producer
Art Tatsuya Kushida Background Designer
Visual Effects Atsuko Fukushima Key Animation
Visual Effects Kumiko Kawana Animation Director
Production Tarō Maki Producer
Writing Sunao Katabuchi Screenplay
Directing Sunao Katabuchi Director
Sound Sunao Katabuchi Sound Director
Art Kazuo Oga Background Designer
Crew Yukitomo Tochino Dialect Coach
Art Junichi Taniguchi Background Designer
Art Tomomi Katō Painter
Writing Fumiyo Kōno Comic Book
Sound Shirō Sasaki Music Score Producer
Sound Yōji Shimizu Recording Supervision
Visual Effects Kenji Hachizaki Key Animation
Visual Effects Hiroshi Shimizu Key Animation
Art Kazuyuki Hashimoto Background Designer
Editing Kashiko Kimura Editor
Art Yūji Ikeda Background Designer
Art Katsushi Aoki Background Designer
Art Mio Isshiki Background Designer
Art Tomoyuki Shimizu Background Designer
Art Kōsuke Hayashi Art Direction
Sound Kotringo Original Music Composer
Sound Kotringo Theme Song Performance
Art Ryōko Ina Background Designer
Art Naomi Kasugai Background Designer
Visual Effects Hiroko Kazui Key Animation
Visual Effects Fumie Muroi Key Animation
Art Atsushi Yokoyama Background Designer
Visual Effects Shunji Murata Key Animation
Art Emiko Okui Painter
Visual Effects Hidenori Matsubara Animation Supervisor
Visual Effects Hidenori Matsubara Character Designer
Visual Effects Shin'ya Segawa Key Animation
Sound Kenji Shibasaki Sound Effects
Art Yohei Takamatsu Background Designer
Sound Yoshio Nakamura Foley Artist
Production Hiroto Yonemori Associate Producer
Visual Effects Yasuhisa Katō Key Animation
Visual Effects Izumi Sakamoto Color Designer
Visual Effects Kazutaka Ozaki Animation Director
Sound Junichi Sasaki Sound Effects
Camera Yūya Kumasawa Director of Photography
Visual Effects Hiroyuki Terao Key Animation
Art Hideyuki Ueno Background Designer
Visual Effects Toshiyuki Satō Key Animation
Visual Effects Maho Takagi Key Animation
Art Michiko Kado Painter
Visual Effects Noriko Itou Animation Director
Visual Effects Akiko Asaki Animation Director
Visual Effects Akiko Yamaguchi Animation Director
Visual Effects Moe Usami Animation Director
Visual Effects Natsuko Shimizu Animation Director
Visual Effects Riwako Matsui Animation Director
Visual Effects Shigeru Kimishima Animation Director
Visual Effects Taiki Imamura Animation Director
Visual Effects Tetsurō Karai Animation Director
Visual Effects Yasuyuki Kitazawa Animation Director
Directing Chie Uratani Assistant Director
Art Akane Iwakuma Background Designer
Art Ayae Kanbe Background Designer
Art Harumi Yanoki Background Designer
Art Hitoshi Nagasaki Background Designer
Art Kaori Hino Background Designer
Art Kikuyo Yano Background Designer
Art Kurumi Katayama Background Designer
Art Masami Ozeki Background Designer
Art Michiko Taniguchi Background Designer
Art Natsumi Niima Background Designer
Art Rieko Ohiwa Background Designer
Art Risa Iwatsuki Background Designer
Art Satoko Nakamura Background Designer
Art Sawako Takagi Background Designer
Art Takafumi Nishima Background Designer
Art Takashi Omori Background Designer
Art Tomomi Tsuruko Background Designer
Art Tomotaka Kubo Background Designer
Art Tsuneo Ozeki Background Designer
Art Tsuyoshi Nakatani Background Designer
Art Yōji Nakaza Background Designer
Art Yoshikazu Suehiro Background Designer
Art Yuka Nitta Background Designer
Art Yūki Kasahara Background Designer
Art Yūko Kobayashi Background Designer
Art Yuri Sanan Background Designer
Art Sakiko Soga Painter
Visual Effects Chiharu Tanaka Color Designer
Sound Mayumi Niiya Recording Supervision
Visual Effects Aoi Uekura Key Animation
Visual Effects Asami Shimizu Key Animation
Visual Effects Hirofumi Masuda Key Animation
Visual Effects Ikuno Yagi Key Animation
Visual Effects Kahoru Hirata Key Animation
Visual Effects Katsuya Yamada Key Animation
Visual Effects Kazuko Shibata Key Animation
Visual Effects Naoko Masui Key Animation
Visual Effects Nobuko Sugino Key Animation
Visual Effects Shūhei Arita Key Animation
Visual Effects Shunta Tanaka Key Animation
Visual Effects Takayo Nishimura Key Animation
Visual Effects Yoshiharu Shimizu Key Animation
Visual Effects Yōsuke Takada Key Animation
Visual Effects Yumi Chiba Key Animation
Crew Daisuke Okeda Legal Services
Sound Yukiko Iida Music Score Producer
Art Akane Yamazaki Painter
Art Atsuko Itō Painter
Art Ayaka Nasu Painter
Art Ayumi Nakahara Painter
Art Lee Bo-ram Painter
Art Chiaki Numata Painter
Art Chie Sugimiya Painter
Art Chieko Tokuda Painter
Art Chiharu Hashimoto Painter
Art Cho Ki-jung Painter
Art Daiki Ura Painter
Art Emiko Katō Painter
Art Kim Yeo-jin Painter
Art Hajime Satō Painter
Art Hiroshi Moriwaki Painter
Art Izumi Inoue Painter
Art Lee Jin-hee Painter
Art Lim Jung-ah Painter
Art Kaori Maruyama Painter
Art Kiyomi Takahashi Painter
Art Mana Kurimoto Painter
Art Mayumi Oikawa Painter
Art Mika Kinoshita Painter
Art Kim Min-jung Painter
Art Minori Nishida Painter
Art Miwa Enji Painter
Art Mizue Kadoshita Painter
Art Naoto Kondō Painter
Art Kim Ok-hee Painter
Art Rie Kitazawa Painter
Art Riku Ishikura Painter
Art Ryōko Fujisawa Painter
Art Satsuki Kamoi Painter
Art Park Se-na Painter
Art Kim Soo-hun Painter
Art Kim Soo-jeong Painter
Art Su Hyun-jung Painter
Art Su Yeong-jeong Painter
Art Sung Kyung-hwang Painter
Art Taisuke Utsumi Painter
Art Yōko Tomaru Painter
Art Yoo Young-hye Painter
Art Cho Yu-jin Painter
Art Yukari Hashimoto Painter
Art Yūki Tozawa Painter
Art Yuri Kayano Painter
Art Yūki Matsuda Painter
Production Fuko Noda Production Manager
Production Masato Matsunaga Production Manager
Sound Daiki Matsūra Sound Effects
Sound Yūji Akazawa Sound Effects
Crew Kuroburue Special Effects
Production Yoshito Ashino Production Coordinator
Production Yukie Abe Associate Producer
Sound Natsuko Inoue Foley Artist

Similar Movies