The Golden Compass

There are worlds beyond our own - the compass will show the way.

The Golden Compass (2007)


After overhearing a shocking secret, precocious orphan Lyra Belacqua trades her carefree existence roaming the halls of Jordan College for an otherworldly adventure in the far North, unaware that it's part of her destiny.

Director: Chris Weitz
Writer: Chris Weitz

The Golden Compass Vodly
Vodly Score: 6/10 from 2686 votes
Release Date: 2007-12-04
Status: Released
Run time: 113 min / 1:53
Budget: $180,000,000
Revenue: $372,234,864
Production Companies : Depth of Field, New Line Cinema, Scholastic Productions, Ingenious Media
Production Countries: United Kingdom, United States of America


Dakota Blue Richards
as Lyra Belacqua
Nicole Kidman
as Marisa Coulter
Daniel Craig
as Lord Asriel
Sam Elliott
as Lee Scoresby
Eva Green
as Serafina Pekkala
Freddie Highmore
as Pantalaimon (voice)
Ian McKellen
as Iorek Byrnison (voice)
Ben Walker
as Roger Parslow
Ian McShane
as Ragnar Sturlusson (voice)
Kristin Scott Thomas
as Stelmania (voice)
Kathy Bates
as Hester (voice)
Jim Carter
as John Faa
Tom Courtenay
as Farder Coram
Christopher Lee
as First High Councilor
Simon McBurney
as Fra Pavel
Jack Shepherd
as Master
Magda Szubanski
as Mrs. Lonsdale
Habib Nasib Nader
as Ragnar
Derek Jacobi
as Magisterial Emissary
Clare Higgins
as Ma Coster
Charlie Rowe
as Billy Costa
Steven Loton
as Tony Costa
Michael Antoniou
as Kerim Costa
Mark Mottram
as Jaxer Costa
Hattie Morahan
as Sister Clara
Elliot Cowan
as Commanding Officer
Sam Hoare
as Second in Command
Brian Nickels
as Gobbler
Thomas Arnold
as Gobbler
Helen Soraya
as Witch
Edward de Souza
as Second High Councilor
Jason Watkins
as Bolvangar Official
Paul Antony-Barber
as Bolvangar Doctor
Jody Halse
as Bolvangar Orderly
John Bett
as Thorold
John Franklyn-Robbins
as Librarian
Alexander Mercury
as Tartar Officer
James Rawlings
as Passing Scholar


Directing Chris Weitz Director
Writing Philip Pullman Novel
Writing Chris Weitz Screenplay
Production Bill Carraro Producer
Production Deborah Forte Producer
Sound Alexandre Desplat Original Music Composer
Camera Henry Braham Director of Photography
Production Lucy Bevan Casting
Production Fiona Weir Casting
Art Richard L. Johnson Art Direction
Art Chris Lowe Art Direction
Art Andy Nicholson Art Direction
Art Anna Pinnock Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up Ruth Myers Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Nicola Buck Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Angela Levin Makeup Artist
Production Michael Lynne Executive Producer
Production Toby Emmerich Executive Producer
Production Mark Ordesky Executive Producer
Production Ileen Maisel Executive Producer
Production Andrew Miano Executive Producer
Production Paul Weitz Executive Producer
Crew Paul Jennings Stunt Coordinator
Editing Anne V. Coates Editor
Production Robert Shaye Executive Producer
Art Dennis Gassner Production Design
Lighting Justin Hammond Lighting Artist
Lighting Howard R. Campbell Lighting Technician
Visual Effects Alexander Fernandes Animation
Visual Effects Sachin Bangera Animation
Directing Nikki Clapp Script Supervisor
Camera Laurie Sparham Still Photographer

Similar Movies