How the West Was Won

It's here! The mightiest adventure ever filmed!

How the West Was Won (1962)


The epic tale of the development of the American West from the 1830s through the Civil War to the end of the century, as seen through the eyes of one pioneer family.

Directors: John Ford, George Marshall, Henry Hathaway, Richard Thorpe.
Writer: John Gay

How the West Was Won Vodly
Vodly Score: 7.2/10 from 212 votes
Release Date: 1962-10-01
Status: Released
Run time: 162 min / 2:42
Budget: $15,000,000
Revenue: $50,000,000
Production Company : Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer
Production Country: United States of America


Carroll Baker
as Eve Prescott Rawlings
Lee J. Cobb
as Marshal Lou Ramsey
Henry Fonda
as Jethro Stuart
Carolyn Jones
as Julie Rawlings
Karl Malden
as Zebulon Prescott
Gregory Peck
as Cleve Van Valen
George Peppard
as Zeb Rawlings
Robert Preston
as Roger Morgan
Debbie Reynolds
as Lily Prescott
James Stewart
as Linus Rawlings
Eli Wallach
as Charlie Gant
John Wayne
as William Sherman
Richard Widmark
as Mike King
Brigid Bazlen
as Jeb Hawkins' Daughter
Walter Brennan
as Jeb Hawkins
David Brian
as Lilith's Attorney
Andy Devine
as Peterson
Raymond Massey
as Abraham Lincoln
Agnes Moorehead
as Rebecca Prescott
Harry Morgan
as Ulysses S. Grant
Thelma Ritter
as Agatha Clegg
Mickey Shaughnessy
as Deputy Stover
Russ Tamblyn
as Confederate Deserter
Spencer Tracy
as Narrator (voice)
Harry Dean Stanton
as Gant Henchman (uncredited)
Lee Van Cleef
as River Pirate (uncredited)
Rodolfo Acosta
as Gant Gang Member (uncredited)
Clinton Sundberg
as Hylan Seabury (uncredited)
Willis Bouchey
as Civil War Surgeon (uncredited)
Claude Johnson
as Jeremiah Rawlings (uncredited)
Kim Charney
as Sam Prescott (uncredited)
Bryan Russell
as Zeke Prescott (uncredited)
Stanley Livingston
as Prescott Rawlings (uncredited)
Jay C. Flippen
as Huggins (uncredited)
Tudor Owen
as Alec Harvey (uncredited)
Karl Swenson
as Train Conductor (uncredited)
James Griffith
as Gambler (uncredited)


Writing Johnny Mercer Lyricist
Camera Charles Lang Director of Photography
Camera William H. Daniels Director of Photography
Art Henry Grace Set Decoration
Camera Joseph LaShelle Director of Photography
Costume & Make-Up Sydney Guilaroff Hairstylist
Editing Harold F. Kress Editor
Directing John Ford Director
Sound Alfred Newman Original Music Composer
Sound Alfred Newman Songs
Camera Milton Krasner Director of Photography
Art George W. Davis Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Walter Plunkett Costume Design
Art Addison Hehr Art Direction
Sound Franklin Milton Recording Supervision
Directing George Marshall Director
Writing John Gay Screenplay
Writing Ken Darby Lyricist
Art William Ferrari Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up William Tuttle Makeup Artist
Visual Effects A. Arnold Gillespie Visual Effects
Directing Henry Hathaway Director
Writing James R. Webb Writer
Directing Richard Thorpe Director
Production Bernard Smith Producer
Crew Harold E. Wellman Second Unit Cinematographer
Sound Robert Emmett Dolan Music Coordinator
Visual Effects Robert R. Hoag Visual Effects
Editing Charles K. Hagedon Color Assistant
Writing Sammy Cahn Lyricist
Art Jack Mills Set Decoration
Sound Dave Guard Musician
Directing Wingate Smith Assistant Director
Art Don Greenwood Jr. Set Decoration
Directing William McGarry Assistant Director
Directing George Marshall Jr. Assistant Director
Directing William Shanks Assistant Director
Directing Robert Saunders Assistant Director
Production Thomas Conroy Production Supervisor

Similar Movies